Reading, pingbacks and sarcasm

So the latest Blogging 101 assignment was to write a post about a post that you have recently commented on.
I commented on two posts about very similar things. They were about writing for your dream reader and how the reader they really want to write for is themselves.
Check out

https://brittabottle.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/dear-blogging-101-the-i-dont-have-a-dream-reader-love-britta/

https://sophiethomasblogs.wordpress.com/2015/01/08/a-message-to-you/

 

I am still unsure of how to do ping backs, so still learning and I hope you can see their posts from here.

 

I agreed with both of these lovely ladies.  I primarily write for myself.  If others read it that’s great, and I cannot hide the excitement I feel when I get a comment or a like on my page, knowing that someone has read what I have written.  But like I said to one, I also write to better understand myself.  Some days I do.  I mean some days I understand myself better.  Other days I share a part of myself that I wasn’t there before I sat down to write.  A simple spilling of my mind to discover another aspect of who I am.  So my initial sarcastic post about my dream reader, at least the introduction of it, seems childish now.  By the way, sarcasm is very difficult to write.  Do you agree?

After re-reading my dream blogger post I thought I probably sound conceited.  I did not mean to.  Similarly I wrote on my about page that I like long walks on the beach.  I do, but I was being cliche and sarcastic.  I realised that this may not be recognised as such when it was commented on in an honest way.

 

So Yes thank you Sophie and Brittabottle?  for inspiring me to write this post.  Keep writing, reading, inspiring and laughing. (no sarcastic intention present there).

Sarah

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Reading, pingbacks and sarcasm

  1. Thank you for the mention and the kind words. I do agree with you, sarcasm is very difficult to write! Keep up the great work on your blog and I look forward to reading your future posts. 🙂

  2. I know what you mean, sarcasm IS very difficult to write – I guess you have to trust your reader to understand the context. If the reader is you, that shouldn’t be a problem! Even if your reader doesn’t interpret the sarcasm in your writing, maybe they’ll get something completely different and unintended from your work? This could be a good thing too!

  3. Wow, thank you so much for the pingback and the kind words! It really is quite meaningful to know that other people relate to my words and find meaning in them.

    I haven’t had the chance to check out your blog extensively (I just started a new semester of school, which has been keeping me busy of late) but I will soon!

    By the way, you can just call me Britta. 🙂

  4. Wow, totally didn’t realise you were being sarcastic in your ‘I like long walks on the beach’ part.

    • I do like long walks! But I put it in there as a quip on dating sites that rely on information like that. It was really only sarcastic to myself. I forget sometimes that my other thoughts arent read too. I hope you don’t feel offended? Not my intention. The beach is actually the one place I feel connected.

      • No offence taken 🙂 1. I’ve never hung out on dating sites 2. I’m an upfront person who takes people at their (written) word 3. I think sarcasm rarely transfers well to the page or screen. It’s one of those things where it helps to hear someone’s tone of voice or see the roll of their eyes. Anyway, the beach is the ONE place where I often feel my stresses diminish (no sentimentality or sarcasm there 😉 )

  5. I’ve stuck my feet…well in my case my boots…..in my mouth so many times with assuming that since someone knows me that they ‘get’ my sarcasm in letters. So not so!
    Therefore,
    I try to totally stay away from it in my blog.

    But hey, I did get a loud laugh on your ‘long walks on the beach!”

Leave a Reply

