Read this, it could be for you…

My Dream reader,
This is the latest challenge in “Blogging 101”, to create a post for our dream reader. Perhaps you are that person. I thank you for taking the time to read my post. I cannot wait for you to respond and recognise my enormous talent as a writer. I cannot wait for you to contact me with offers of commissioning a collection of work of mine…
Of course that is after you read my brilliance, so I suppose I had better produce some.
I’m not sure I can…
So you may stop reading. But if by chance you still are I am going to share a story. This is a piece of Utopian fiction I wrote last year. It was suggested that I extend it. A short teenage fiction novelette perhaps? I’d love to hear your thoughts, even if you don’t want to publish me! Enjoy.

CONTACT

September 12 2076

Dear Diary,

Today is an annual holiday to mark global peace. Historical air sights say that on this day fifty years ago the world was gridlocked in a possible World war, however our great leader, Godot, was determined not to allow that to happen. His wisdom and advanced powers of persuasion convinced all nations around the world to put aside their weapons of mass destruction and fight for a common good, the good of humanity.

Humanity.

I am unsure of what that word truly means. I am fifteen and living in an environment that anything is possible, yet nothing really exists. I know that doesn’t seem to make sense, so allow me to elaborate by sharing with you my day.

I live with my Mother and her two lovers. My Father is a “unique one” and is required to live at the Dome where he can assist with the renewal of life. He is very important to the future, I am lucky to have been born from his seed. Some of my friends weren’t so lucky.

Today I woke at 5 Centrehour and switched on my room. Today I opted for the beach. It was a little windy today. After selecting my uniform I cleansed in our hydrating room. The hydrating room needed cleaning after that and I had to press three buttons before I heard the wooshing of the detergent cleaning it. We really need a new one.

When I reentered my room I changed the mode to cafe and sat down for breakfast. Julie was there too. We always meet up in our cafes at the same time. So Julie’s hologram and I chatted about what we were going to do at school while we ate our flavoured protein.

Julie told me she has a crush on Zac. He’s in our history class. I suppose he’s okay, but not my type. I like Sophie better. Our teacher Mr Anderson, said that there was once a time when same sex couples were frowned upon. That’s when I think that surely the history air sights are exaggerating.

After breakfast I had a conference with Mum. She said she was leaving the flat today to see Charles. Charles is my Grandfather. Why she doesn’t just conference with him I don’t know, but she likes to go outside at least once a week and Charles is her excuse to do this.

For me I don’t like to go outside often. I don’t need to anyway. Everything I have is here.

At 9 Centrehour I put on my school glasseyes. We began with “Impulse” learning where a stream of images are projected on the glasseyes accompanied by huge amounts of information. Then it was my turn. The task was to select and drag important images to the correct airspace to show the depth of my understanding. Babies work really. After that it was time for exercise and vitamin intake. I turned on the sun in my room. Sophie, Julie, Zac and a few other student holograms joined me in a virtual game of basketball. Sophie smiled at me a couple of times. I really wanted to put my arm around her when we won, but hologram touching just doesn’t feel real.

I suppose that’s where my question of humanity starts. When we are surrounded by so many, yet surrounded by no one, how do we know we are human. We learn right from wrong, the dos the don’ts, but in reality we have not choice but to do what is right.

Right. Who determines what it right? Mr Anderson said that there was once a thing called religion where people believed in different things. He said that it was the reason for all war. That each of the religions determined what was right or wrong for them. These beliefs disagreed and war resulted.
We are better off all agreeing the same right and wrong. We are all the same and the answers are all the same. It is better this way, isn’t it?

I once got into a blocked airsight. I saw things on it that I didn’t know whether to believe or not. It said that the world was divided. That there were Techs and Non-techs. That this was chosen long ago. I would be classed as a Tech. The Non-techs lead a dirty life outside. A life that has no clear right and wrong. A life that questions.

We are lucky. We are fortunate. I have so much. For the sake of peace, what is right, is right, what is wrong, is wrong. But that doesn’t stop me thinking. For all the gadgets that help me live and learn, not one gadget has infiltrated my private thoughts. Not yet, not that I know of at least.

I need to connect with some one else. Some one real. I am missing a part of me. Every day that part of me gets smaller. It’s only writing this that I can feel it is still there. Still hungry for human contact. Surely that is what humanity is all about. Human contact.

We are not supposed to have human contact with our friends until we are 18. Sophie and I have been chatting on an unregistered airsight. We have decided to meet tonight. With the festivities of Peace Day, no one will notice we are missing. I have been dreaming of this moment for so long.

6 thoughts on “Read this, it could be for you…

  1. Very interesting concepts. You have quite a story line here. Hope to read more one day!

  2. What is scary for me, is that this happening now. The so-called security at airports, the ‘thought police”, etc. All too true! Stanley Milgram’s experiments on obedience. All demonstrate how the freedoms are lost, by the institutionalization of “public safety”. Our governments are really run by criminals.

    Oh and the story, was entertaining too. Even if it was a little on “dark side”. There is, perhaps, a certain truth to the notion of. Life is but a dream?

  3. I love your writing style. You have a way of putting your imagination into words that I admire. Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

