A Proud parent…

No this is not an entry that I will be bragging about my three gorgeous children. Quite the opposite really.
You know when you get a good report from school, or your child gets best on ground at a soccer game and you feel yourself swelling with pride? Well the opposite is true for when you have that felling of utter horror at what your child has done. You shrivel, you deflate and you want to disappear.
Well you can probably guess, I had a moment like that this week.
When Tom was three he pointed directly at a woman, the only woman on the street, and said “She’s fat!” I was mortified, embarrassed and apologetic. However, a three year old you can justify their actions as innocent mistakes, but when they are eleven that justification is less easy to twist. Saying that, I may try to twist it anyway.
To put it into context.
Thomas, my eldest, is a sweet natured boy that only wants to please others. He hates confrontation and loves being involved in mature, adult conversation, holding his own when it comes to general knowledge. He is also very observant. A typical first born really.
So it comes as no surprise to me that when he was asked to write an “interesting”sentence using his spelling words, that he would choose to write a memorable sentence. A sentence that included a couple of adult words. In Tom’s defense, he was quoting his father watching footy, so you can imagine the language! The conversation I had with his teacher was uncomfortable. Tom had not only written the sentence, but had chosen to read it out to the class! I shrunk, I shriveled, I wanted to disappear.
As a high school drama teacher, I come across texts often that have swearing in them. I justify to the students and their families that this language is part of the character and not a part of them. It is the use of this swearing within the context of the script and the lives of the characters that make it appropriate to use within a school setting. Tom was merely writing a script, if you like, with his father as the character, in the context of a footy game. However, Thomas is not a senior high school drama student!!
Needless to say I have had multiple conversations with Tom on the use of appropriate language at school and other places. I found myself returning to him several times to ask him “why?”, unable to make sense of it in my own head. The message has been well and truly imbedded into him, and I am confident that I will never have that conversation with his teachers again. Still, I am amazed at my sweet boy. It is too soon for him to stop being my sweet boy.
So I put it behind me now, hoping the next time I hear from one of the kids teacher’s I will swell with pride at what they have to say…

Leave a Reply

